Chemistry for Breakfast

Price: $32.95
SKU:  9781771647489
Product  9781771647489

A whirlwind romp through everyday science, perfect for fans of How Stuff Works, Stuff You Should Know and Netflix's Explained.

In this quirky and endlessly surprising book, a quick-witted chemist reveals the amazing

science behind everyday things (like drinking water, breakfast and trips to the dentist) and not-so-everyday things (like space travel and baby dinosaurs). Dr. Mai Thi Nguyen-Kim uses the same relatable style that makes her a popular YouTuber to explain scientific concepts everyone should know.

Over the course of a single day, Mai shows us that amazing science happens everywhere--we just have to look for it. In the morning, her partner's much-too-loud alarm prompts a deep dive into biological clocks and fight-or-flight responses, followed by a coffee with a side of heat conduction and states of matter. Mai continues with explainers of cell phone technology, food preservation, body odor, the effects of alcohol and the science behind the expression "love drunk." At the book's end, she leaves readers with an appreciation of facts and a basic understanding of the fascinating science of everyday life.

Filled with charming illustrations and Mai's own (often hilarious) personal anecdotes, Chemistry for Breakfast turns the ordinary into extraordinary. With Mai as your guide, you'll find something fascinating in everything around you.

Loading...